Dr. Charu Lata Singh

Dr. Charu Lata Singh

Professor and Dean, Vivekananda School of Journalism and Mass Communication (VSJMC)


Dr. Charu Lata Singh is presently Professor and Dean at ‘Vivekananda School of Journalism and Mass Communication’ (VSJMC) in ‘Vivekananda Institute of Professional Studies’ (VIPS), affiliated to GGSIP University, Delhi. India. She was a scholarship holder right from school till her Phd.

With Phd in ‘Political Science’ and MA, M Phil and NET in ‘Journalism & Mass Communication’, she has more than twenty years of media industry and teaching experience.

Dr Charu Lata has been heading the Journalism and Mass Communication Department of VIPS for over ten years. She has contributed immensely in media education through syllabus review and enrichment. The department under her leadership has maintained the status of first preferred journalism school of GGSIP University, Delhi year after year.

She has written extensively on subjects such as Political Communication, Development Communication, Public Relations, Media Laws and Communication Research. She has organised various national and international seminars, conferences, workshops and conducted various counselling sessions.

She has 5 Books, 8 Chapters and more than 30 publications in National and International journals of repute to her credit. She has attended and presented papers in around 50 National and International Seminars & Conferences in India and abroad and has chaired many sessions. She is a resource person to various universities and organisations all across India. She is research paper reviewer for national and International conferences and Journals viz. Environmental Science and Development(ICESD); Communication Today; Rajasthan, India; Oxford Research Encyclopaedia of Politics,UK; Asian Research Journal of Arts & Social Sciences, UK, 4th June.

• She was awarded copyright for the concept , ‘Individual Social Responsibility’ by ‘Government of India’ in 2017 and also for coining the word , ‘Digitracy’ by ‘Government of India’ in 2018

• She was awarded ‘Iconic Women Creating Better World for All’ by World ‘Women Economic Forum’ (WEF) in 2019